Almost.

First of all, it’s our one year adopt-iversary of this girl. She is now a whopping 50 lbs and full of personality.

img_20160529_132418

The recovery is continuing. My left leg is feeling great and I think my right Achilles is following. It’s still stiff in the morning but slowly improving. A little uncomfortable when running but totally manageable. I even managed to get up to 79 miles for the month which is my second third highest for the year. I think in a few weeks I might – GASP – be injury free! What a miracle that would be.

Monday: Rest.

We had tickets to Sigur Ros. Last time we saw them in a giant stadium in Denver. This time it was a small theater and they played from 8.30 to 11.00 with a short intermission. It was amazing – so uplifting, ethereal and soul-lifting. Amazing! So glad I managed to stay up past my bedtime.

Tuesday: 3.6 miles @9.32 pace. Average HR 147 bpm. Bile commute to work 11 miles roundtrip.

Easy run with the pup. But man, is it dark in the mornings these days. Headlamps for the whole run, and sunrise is 7.15 am or later. Fall is here.

Wednesday: 4.75 miles @ 8.37 pace. Average HR 160 bpm.

You can tell from my heart rate that this was a tough one. I just couldn’t get my legs moving and it just felt so hard. Oh well, I just chalked it up to a bad day and tried to forget about it.

Thursday: Gym day.

Arms and legs. I’m trying to get to the gym twice a week to work on strength. Luckily, I an walk over at lunchtime and get some time in during my break. And thank God, the DOMS is not so bad this week. It’s also a good dose of inspiration when I see those kick-ass ladies killing it in their workouts.

Friday: Tempo. 1 mile w/up, 4 @ 7.42 pace (7.44/7.46/7.39/7.39) 1 mile c/down. Average HR 163 bpm.

My second tempo with 3.5 miles on my half marathon course and all of it with elevation loss. It felt tough but manageable – I guess how a tempo should feel? I am still trying to gauge my fitness after all my injury setbacks. I feel like I’m getting back in shape. My resting heart rate is going down, my VO2 max reading on my Garmin is tracking up, I feel like I’m getting leaner. All good things! But my endurance – well I’m still working on that.

Saturday: Gym day.

Arms, legs and core. Friday we had some beers with friends. That did not translate into a productive Saturday. I did make it to the gym later in the afternoon but it was touch and go for a while.

Sunday: 10.45 miles @ 8.42 pace. Average HR 154 bpm.

I had my husband drop my up Emigration Canyon so that I could 10 miles home – 7 miles of those on the half marathon course. My legs were feeling a little heavy from a combination of my tempo run and gym workout but I felt strong on my first double digit run since April. This course is super fast and made to set a PR – although not for me this year but maybe next time.

The run was beautiful – the fall colors are spectacular right now. Although hearing the howls of coyotes did freak me out, as did seeing a dead snake on the side of the road (it took me a second to realize that it was dead). I’m getting really excited about this race – and not just about the pizza at the end. I guess I’m excited that I’ll actually get to run it.

Weekly total: 24.8 miles

5 thoughts on “Almost.

  1. Nice week. I love the nice mix of workouts in there. I have been adding strength back in myself and it is such a nice feeling after a couple of weeks. So helpful for your running too. Have a great week!

  2. Hanna @ TheMillennialNextDoor says:

    Nice week! So glad you are getting back in the swing of things. Recovery is a slow process but your patience will pay off in the end. I’m happy you’re excited about running in your upcoming race. I bet that will make it a more fun and rewarding experience than if you were only gunning for a fast time. Happy adoptaversary!

Leave a Reply

