Light at the end of the tunnel

In the first stages of an injury it is hard to even imagine running again, especially if it hurts to walk and there is no quick improvement. But with patience and doing the smart thing i.e. rest and working on those weaknesses, you eventually begin to see the light at the end of the tunnel. And that’s where I am now – eagerly anticipating making my way into the full light.

That’s not to say that it’s easy or pretty – things are still not quite right but I’m healing – feeling better and stronger. My back-to-running program is all about run-walk intervals to build up the strength in those tendons, bones and muscles. So far so good.

Walk 4.5 mins; Run 0.5 mins   14.00 min/mile

Walk 4 mins; Run 1 min            14.29 min/mile

Walk 3.5 mins; Run 1.5 min     13.40 min/mile

Walk  3 mins; Run 2 mins        12.49 min/mile

Walk 2 mins; Run 3 mins         11:37 min/mile

A couple of runs even had these beachfront views.

A work trip out to CA? OK. I  can do that. Even got an ocean view from my room.

IMG_20160512_190240

I never get sick of the water – especially living so far inland. I even got a chance to travel south – hitting up La Jolla cove – with all the seals, sealions, surfers, paddle-boarders, SCUBA divers, kayakers. I can totally see what people love California. (P.S. – This American Life did a brilliant episode recently about the seals at this cove and after listening to it I knew that I had to go to visit but we didn’t see any craziness when we visited).

IMG_20160515_110145

Further south we ended up at Sunset cliffs and took a walk along the ocean before finding some awesome fish tacos in Ocean Beach.

IMG_20160515_122756IMG_20160515_132103

So much deliciousness. I also tired out the TWO Stone Brewing pubs – in Escondido and right by the airport and they are both amazing. Best pub food ever and beautiful locations.

It was back to reality this week but I am feeling better with every run and by this time next week I should be doing 30 minutes non-stop. That’s not a huge deal to most people in the blogiverse but to me it feels like a huge leap forward!

6 thoughts on “Light at the end of the tunnel

  1. Hanna @ TheMillennialNextDoor says:

    Your trip looks awesome!

    Slow and steady wins the race, as they say ;-). I’m happy to hear you are making progress and feeling optimistic. And hey, 30 minutes is a big deal for me. Sometimes that’s as much running as I have on the schedule for the day! I’m lovin’ this off season life, and pityin’ the fools who are about to give away their summer to marathon training. So while I may be walking less than you I am right there with ya in the light ‘n’ easy club!

  2. So glad you are getting there. Rock always says that when you are first injured, it feels like you will never get better. Such a horrible feeling. The run/walk technique is a fantastic way to get back to it. I think it gives you a great opportunity to run but also makes you check back in on every walk interval and make sure you are feeling ok. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

