OMG I’m running a half marathon in 18 days

To say that this half marathon training cycle has been less than ideal would be a total understatement. I’m just about 10 weeks in and so far I’ve managed to miss 2 weeks due to a stress response in my left shin and another week with a sore calf muscle – same leg. So that’s probably not the best way to prepare for running 13.1 miles. Oh well. I can’t back out there are pancakes at the end. Pancakes.

Last time I checked in I had successfully run a longish run – 8.75 miles of awesome feeling running. The new plan was to run every other day and start lighting candles to the patron saint of running miracles. Well, the good news is that I’m still running. The better news is that I have finally gotten around to watching the Gilmore Girls during my treadmill runs and it is awesome. The less good news is that I still don’t feel right. It’s a little hard to explain. Some days my calf will be a little tight. Other days I think I’m fine but still feel a little off and I’m not sure if that is my head expecting to fell sore or actual discomfort. Oy! Overthinking  is not helping.

So what’s been happening?

Monday 3/21: 6 miles at 8.35 pace on the treadmill

Tuesday 3/22: 7 miles on the stationary bike with some strength work.

Wednesday 3/23: 6.5 miles progression run on the treadmill starting at 8.35 and finishing a 7.55. BTW this run felt amazing.

Thursday 3/24: Rest

Friday 3/25: 6 miles at 9.13 pace.

Saturday 3/26: Some light strength work.

Sunday 3/27: 10 miles outside at 8.36 pace.

Monday 3/28: Rest

Tuesday 3/29: 7 mile progression run on the treadmill starting at 8.35 and finishing at 7.55.

Wednesday 3/30. 7.45 miles on the bike and some core/leg work.

IMG_20160327_105446

So that 10 miler…..it went pretty well. A few aches and a little discomfort but nothing short and stabby (which is my signal to stop ASAP). My husband dropped me on the actual half marathon course and I followed it for 8 miles. The course is pretty fun to run. It starts with a short but steep uphill (which I skipped for this run) and then it’s pretty much downhill until mile 5. And I mean a fast downhill – I managed one mile at 8.08 pace without really trying. There is a mile of gradual climb before another slight downhill section and the last quarter mile steep section just before mile 8. Then it’s flattish until the finish. I like the variation – it keeps things interesting but I think it would be pretty hard to run this as a negative split.

I was pretty happy to hit double digits now that my half marathon is just 18 days away. Holy crap! But first, I have to finish a 15K. This will be the last in the tune-up series and will be my long run for the weekend. It will also give me a pretty good idea of a time goal for the half. I just hope my left leg cooperates. Fingers crossed.

13 thoughts on “OMG I’m running a half marathon in 18 days

  1. Hanna @ TheMillennialNextDoor says:

    You’re doing a great job! If you are running 6 and 7 milers during the week, you are ready to run a half marathon. I’m sure you will surprise yourself with the result. I have known so many people to PR when they felt undertrained and weren’t expecting it – there’s really something to be said about going into a race with more energy and just running joyfully without being bogged down by expectations in pressure. Good luck, I hope your calf keeps getting better!!

    • Thanks Hanna. I don’t a PR is in the cards but I would love to have a great race – and I think you know exactly what I mean. I think I’ll go by feel and this weeks 15K should give me a good indication of where I’m at right now. One of my favorite halfs I started slow and finished strong – not worrying about my time and I think I finished in 1.40.xx. I’ll probably finalize a more realistic goal in the next week but I’m excited to run a half again, it’s my favorite distance.

    • Thanks Fallon! I think my race time isn’t bothering so much but the fact that I can’t seem to go more than a few weeks without an injury popping up. I just want to run dammit!

Leave a Reply

