Half marathon training week 6

I’m not sure that I should even type this (or say it out loud) but I think that I am on the road to recovery. Although this week hasn’t been perfect, it was a huge improvement on last week and I’m beginning to believe that I will be completely back to normal in a week or two. I hope. Fingers crossed. Body – please keep it together.

Despite my shin splint setback (two weeks completely off from running) it still feels like I have plenty of time to get up to speed – both figuratively and literally. I’m still trying to keep from setting myself unrealistic goals but I do have one big goal – sort of a comeback goal. it’s been two years since I’ve run a decent half marathon. Last year I somehow managed to finish the Canyonlands half marathon but it was not pretty – and my slowest road half ever. I am ready for a good race!

Monday: 3 miles at 9:13 pace. Back on the treadmill to try and calm my super tight calves. Oy! They were crazy sore on Sunday and I woke up on Monday morning hoping that I hadn’t pushed too hard. I don’t know if anyone else ever feels nervous taking those first few steps in the morning. Lately, I wake up and try to figure out if anything hurts. Once I’ve confirmed that nothing hurts lying down, then I need to figure out it if I can walk properly. It’s an exciting wait to start the day :/.

Tuesday: 4 miles at 9:13 pace. More treadmill. Slow and steady, right?

Wednesday: 4.15 mile tempo run. 10 minutes at 9:13 pace, 15 minutes at 7:30 pace and 10 minutes at 9:13 pace. This felt really great. A hard effort but not impossible. Now I just need to take these tempos out on the road. Eventually.

Thursday: Rest.

Friday: 3.1 mile trail run at 9:55 pace with a little over 300 ft of climbing. My first run of the year in shorts. Sunny and in the 60s (!). A lunchtime run on one of my favorite running trails. Perfect! I tried to keep it a little easier than last week but it didn’t feel any easier. I’m trying to keep track of what makes some running days feel so great – like everything if working the way it should – and other days just feel so off. Is it totally random, or has anyone else figured it out?

Saturday: Race day! 2 mile warm up at 9:50 pace. 10 k at 7:43 pace (47:52). 2 mile cool down at 10:22 pace. I’ll fill you in on the details later this week.

Sunday: 3 mile recovery run with Sophie at 9:36 pace. Wow – some wind and light rain. I was getting ready for my run and kinda looking forward to running in the rain. As an Irish person this is crazy talk. Growing up it rained every second day – light, all-day drizzle mostly and it got old pretty quick. Now, living in Utah, rain is a bit of a rarity (except for my last marathon and my very first half marathon LOL!). So much so, that there is a distinct smell every time it rains which I’ve never noticed anywhere else.

Weekly total: 27.45 miles.

4 thoughts on “Half marathon training week 6

  1. Well done. And so glad to see that things are going in the right direction. Shin splints are just brutal and sometimes feel like they will last forever. Always nice to feel like you are on the mend.

  2. Glad to hear you are feeling a little better! Fingers crossed the progress continues. You are doing a great job of listening to your body! I can’t WAIT to hear about the 10K – it sounds like you crushed it!

Leave a Reply

