Back on Track-ish

After taking two weeks off to try and get rid of my shin splints, it was time to get back on the metaphorical horse and see if my legs would cooperate.

Monday: 3 miles at 9:13 pace. I decided to take it to the treadmill in case I needed to bail. The good news: my shins felt totally fine. The bad news: the rest of my legs seem to have forgotten how to work. This felt super awkward. I had to expected to feel some stiffness and weirdness and that’s exactly what I got.

Tuesday: 3 miles at 9:13 pace. Again with the treadmill but a huge improvement from yesterday – it’s like my legs remembered what they were supposed to be doing. Their is also one major positive about doing runs on the treadmill – I literally have to walk past the weight section of the gym to get out. So I’ve been supplementing these short runs with some strength work – alternating legs and core.

Wednesday: 3.5 miles – tempo run. A short tempo run to see how fast running felt. 10 minute warm-up, 10 minutes at 7.30 pace and 10 minute cooldown. This felt great. It turns out that I love to run fast (for me!) and 10 minutes was a perfect taste.

Thursday: Rest!

Friday: 3.2 miles at 9.11 min/mile pace. Sunny and in the 50s – I just had to head outside, and I got my first t-shirt run of the year. So perfect and no real pain on the uphills or downhills. This was on one of my favorite trails during my lunch break and when I was done I was pretty shocked to see that it was probably the fastest I have ever run this route. I guess all of that strength work is paying off.

Saturday: 7.1 mile long run at 8.42 min/mile pace. My half marathon is on April 16th so even taking two weeks off I still feel as if I have enough time to prepare. I decided to do a short-ish long run. The route I chose is uphill for the first half and then a downhill back finish. I like it because I have to work hard for the first half but then get to cruise home. Great weather and felt pretty good with just a couple of little aches.

In the afternoon, I decided to head up to Millcreek Canyon for an off-leash hike wit Sophie.

IMG_20160227_164646IMG_20160227_164758

Their was still snow on this trail – icy at the bottom and nice and firm after about a mile up. I was so glad that I brought my Yak-Trax as this trail is pretty much a non-stop uphill for the first half. And because it was slippery, I was on my toes for the whole way up and by the next morning my calves were screaming. But it was worth it to see her running around in the woods.

Sunday: 3 mile run at 9:50 min/mile pace. Oh my calves! Yikes. This run was not fun – well except for the weather. I hit up the gym later for some strength work before heading for hike number two of the weekend. I hiked 2.5 miles (very carefully) but god know how far this girl ran.

IMG_20160228_174540

Spring has definitely sprung in the foothills. I was also scouting some new running trails that I’m hoping I can have some fun on later this year. And ending hikes with a beautiful sunset is my new favorite thing.

Total mileage: 22.8 miles.

Pretty happy with my comeback week. Still lots of recover going on – stretching (downward dog is my friend), easy running and compression. Fingers crossed that my legs continue to cooperate.

11 thoughts on “Back on Track-ish

      • Ah yes, the good old torture roller. I’m trying to spend more time with mine too. My calves are ridiculously tight, and I don’t want that to lead to other issues.

  1. Hanna @ TheMillennialNextDoor says:

    Yay! So glad to hear your comeback is going well! I also have a route that is uphill the first way and downhill back, and I love it for the same reasons you mention 🙂

  2. I put my old Garmin on Kobi a few times and she averages about 2km extra to every 10km I run. They put on a lot of extra mileage! Happy to hear you’re back running!

Leave a Reply

