Upheaval Dome hike

I wasn’t sure how I would feel the day after my half marathon but I was secretly hoping that I would be have enough control of my legs to do a short hike somewhere near Moab. You can’t come to the desert and not explore. After a quick test of walking into town to try and get some coffee I decided that I was in good enough shape to tire out those legs some more. There are two national parks near Moab – Arches and Canyonlands, and Arches is definitely the popular one that everyone wants to visit. We figured Canyonlands (which is a little more out of the way) would be a little quieter and had some trails that were new to us.

IMG_1281

We settled on Upheaval Dome trail which is literally at the end of the road. It was a shortish hike – about 1.8 mile round trip.

IMG_1282

Desert flowers were out – and purple seemed to be the color of choice.

IMG_1271

This is the view from the first lookout. I am not a geologist but my understanding is that scientists don’t quite understand how all of that grey rock got to be there. Not the prettiest view but if you’re into geology it probably rocks your world (#sorrynotsorry).

IMG_1273

IMG_1274

IMG_1275

I’ve been in Utah for 5 (!) years now and I still am mesmerized by the red rock desert views. The trail continued on to the second viewpoint and got a little more gnarly (I don’t think I’d recommend it for young children). The trail was marked with cairns but it was kind of shocking to me how people were ignoring the obvious route to walk down some pretty steep slickrock. I mean they the NPS literally carved steps into the stone to make it easier (and safer) for everyone.

IMG_1278

Viewpoint two had guardrails so you know it was super dangerous. And we got another view of the mysterious grey rock.

IMG_1277

It was nice to get my legs moving before we hit the road for the 4 hour drive home. See you soon Moab!

14 thoughts on “Upheaval Dome hike

  1. I was just telling Rock last night that I really want us to visit Utah at some point. This is just so gorgeous. And it has been forever since I have been on a nice good hike. Love your pictures. Thanks for sharing!

  2. charissarunning says:

    You know, I’ve never really considered going to Utah for anything before (I tend to be very “coast-minded”), but all the pictures I’ve seen from your hikes make me want to reconsider. It’s so nice out there!

  3. Looks so amazing. I spent a few short days in Utah a while back doing a Ragnar Race and loved the scenery. I will go back one day and check things out some more.

Leave a Reply

