Well, hello there number 8

Injury update time! Today marks six weeks since I pulled my calf muscle for the second time (and seven weeks since I injured it for the first time – oops!). I started by taking two weeks completely off running and then tried to return but that wasn’t working out so well. I realized then that it was time to call in the professionals. Two more weeks without running and plenty of hip stretching (hip bone-connected to the calf muscle?). And then I had the-all clear to start back with run-walking as long as pain level was low and preferably non-existent. So, how did it go?

Sat: Fresh snow and skiing!!!!

Sun: 5.15 miles (8 x 3:3 run walk intervals)

Mon: More skiing!

Tues: 3.6 miles (5 x 4:2 run walk intervals)

Wed: Yoga (plenty of deep hip stretches)

Thurs: 4.5 miles (5 x 4.5:1.5 run walk intervals)

The best part: running outside and with minimal pain. In fact, I’m totally pain free when I’m running and just feel some tightness during the walk intervals. Sometimes I don’t understand my body! I’m back in my high-vis running gear and early morning starts and it feels amazing. Looking back, I think I was burnt out after my marathon and was struggling to get motivated to run on my regular routes. But the hunger is back and I’m excited to be back on the road. The plan is to increase the percentage of running versus walking until I can run for 30 minutes straight. And to be honest, I think that this is going to happen pretty soon. Woohoo!

I saw my physiotherapist for a follow-up appointment this week. She did a lot of work on hip mobility (painful) and then the needles came out. I’m not convinced that dry needling works. She worked on my calf and hip and at least this time it was less painful than the previous time. She thought that this was because my calf was healing although the scientist in me wonders if it would have healed to the same extent even without the treatment. The thing that makes me not like the treatment was that I had pain in my calf that afternoon and the next day. Pain that was different from the actual calf strain. So, I’m still skeptical about it. On a positive note, she watched me run on the treadmill and had no complaints. And I don’t need to come back. And I should be completely symptom free in 6-8 weeks.

I also managed to finally look at my run intervals – my Garmin was having some issues – and it was some pretty good numbers. My run intervals were in the 8.10-8.30 min/mile range and I even had one 8.47 mile (including a walk break). Hello, number 8! It’s been a while. All in all a pretty good week!

Bonus: after a balmy February it seems that winter has returned to SLC. So that means we’ll be able to hit the slopes again this weekend with some fresh powder.

IMG_1242

This was our view from Park City on Monday. Don’t let the sunshine fool you – it was so cold. Freeze your face kinda cold.

IMG_1239

And you know you’re a real runner when your husband buys you some North Face arm warmers for Valentines Day. I always thought that these were a little silly but after having a few races with cold starts I am excited to try them out.

IMG_1240

Don’t worry I still got some chocolate! This stuff is amazing! Roasted coconut on the bottom and salted caramel in milk chocolate. If you see it in the store you should buy it – you will not regret it. 10/10 would recommend.

IMG_1241

11 thoughts on “Well, hello there number 8

  1. charissarunning says:

    Yay! I’m beyond happy that you are running again and taking it one step at a time. That chocolate sounds absolutely divine and if I see it somewhere I will be sure to eat it all up! 😀

  2. Coconut caramel?? YUMMY. And what a thoughtful gift of arm warmers! 🙂 If you would like to have some of our snow and cold you’re welcome to it!
    I’m so happy to hear that you are having some pain free runs and your paces look great! ❤

  3. Awesome news about the calf recovery. That chocolate sounds and looks so good. I love arm warmers, but my arms seem to get more cold than my other parts so I like to wear them as an additional layer in the winter.

  4. I love arm warmers for slightly cooler starts. Glad to hear you are feeling better and no longer have to see the doctor for your calf. I am still leery of the whole needle thing though. Especially since you said it caused different pain- not cool!

  5. Wonderful news! So happy for you. And that chocolate looks out of this world. Interesting with the arm warmers. I too always thought they were silly but am starting to see why they might be great.

  6. Happy to hear the pain is gone, you must be so relieved!! I have a pair of North Face arm warmers too, I love them because I tend to get too hot when I wear long sleeves so I can just take them off 🙂

  7. so glad you’re running pain-free again! love running-related gifts. coconut and chocolate = amazing combo, but i can’t do caramel! such a fail there.

Leave a Reply

