Friday check-in

A quick post before I leave work and head south! Woohoo! Moab is one of my favorite places in Utah. Two National Parks and amazing red rock scenery. You should all go visit – especially because this is the weather forecast for this weekend.

Screen Shot 2015-02-12 at 12.20.00 PM

And if you decide to leave right now, you can join me for my first ultra marathon experience. Wait – Aren’t you injured and can’t run at all let alone 55 KM? Yes – blog reader! My husband is running his first ever ultra marathon race and I’ll be doing some volunteer work at the start. To be honest, I think I’m more excited about it than him. Probably because I’ll get to experience the excitement at the start and finish without having to worry about staying on my feet for 6+ hours.

a912ba_58192493ee644a59b18be4c5852b6624.png_srz_p_110_120_75_22_0.50_1.20_0I’m hoping to get a gap before he finishes to do a little hiking while he runs. The finish is near one of my favorite (and free – no national park entry fee) hikes – Corona Arch. It’s pretty mellow, 3 miles out-and-back and I’ve hiked it before so I know I won’t get lost (I am directionally-challenged).

corona01

Then we’ll hang out in a hot tub and get ready for the post-race party where we’ll see Rob Krar who was voted ultra runner of the year for 2015. And who is an amazing advocate for mental health -> check out his short movie about coping with depression (and admire his awesome running form).

In other news, Runnersworld is reading my mind! First my brand new shoes are this month’s Editor’s choice. And they have a whole article about strengthening hips. Apparently, weak hips can lead to all sorts of problems *COUGH*calf strain*COUGH*.

IMG_1184 IMG_1183

And finally, I’m feeling great! I haven’t run in 12 days (except when I almost missed my bus on Monday morning – oops!). And I’ve taken it a little easier this week – including two days of complete rest. It’s a little funny when you finally start to feel normal – no pain doing anything! And then I realized how crappy I’ve been feeling for the last month or so. Feeling some kind of pain everyday becomes your new normal and it feels so good to be healthy again. So I’m going to spread the love to all those runners starting out on their 33/55 KM journey on Saturday and will enjoy the sunshine for all of you northeasterners!

Have a great weekend!

15 thoughts on “Friday check-in

  1. FLRunnerBoy says:

    Wishing the best for your huz in his first ultra and isn’t weird how your weather out there in some western areas is even warmer than Florida right now lol. Things that make you go hmmmm?? Have a great weekend Irish!! 🙂

    • I would not have predicted 60s in February! We’re having the weirdest winter ever – I can’t remember the last time it snowed. It would have been the perfect winter for marathon training. Oh well!

  2. Oh those temps look amazing! Have a fantastic time. I am a tad jealous. I am also so happy to hear that you are starting to feel a little better. Funny how we can get ourselves into a rut where we just live through pain and start to not realize it. This is truly a great time of year to take a break and heal that body. Just imagine how awesome you will be when you come back with a totally strong and healthy body. Happy vacation!

    • Thanks Sarah! It was nice to get away and have some outdoor adventures! I think runners in general have a high pain tolerance and power through things when they should take a break. Finally, feeling normal again has made me appreciate my body and how important it is to treat it right.

    • I totally agree! Getting used to having some kind of nagging pain so that it becomes your new normal -> life changing when you it suddenly goes away. The sunshine break was so nice but looks like winter is making another appearance which means ski time!!!

  3. I am so glad to hear that you are feeling so much better! I need to take some of your advice and lay off for a week. I hope your vacation has been awesome. I have been to Moab once and want to go back so badly. It’s like otherworldly beautiful there!

    • Moab – well all of southern Utah – is just beautiful! We had a great time and had my first taste of t-shirt weather for the year! I think when you’re in the middle training for a marathon it’s harder to rationalize taking time off – just wait for the joy of the taper to take it easy.

Leave a Reply

