2015 goals

Well it finally happened. Many of you will have suffered through those post-injury runs, wondering if you’ve come back too soon, if you’re doing too much and if that injury is going to reappear. Yay for runner’s hypochondria! But then you have that one run. The run where you feel strong, and completely forget to worry about your foot/hip/knee/insert other body part. This happened for me on Thursday and it was amazing. And again on Friday. I was a little anxious about Sunday’s long run – mainly because there would be a lot of downhill (the first five miles were non-stop uphill for a little under 1000ft elevation gain), but I feel like I’ve turned a corner and am now out of the post-injury phase and normal running has resumed.

Mon: 2000 yd swim

Tues: 5 miles (treadmill) at 8.11 min/mile pace

Wed: Rest

Thurs: 5.65 miles at 9.10 min/mile pace

Fri: 5.15 miles at 8.23 min/mile pace (2 x 1 mile repeats; 7.10/7.05) + PM yoga

Sat: 2750 yd swim

Sun: 10.6 miles at 9.07 min/mile pace

So now that things are back on track, it’s time to think about some goals for 2015.

Manage injuries better. Last year my number one goal was to avoid injuries. That obviously did not happen. But, I feel like 2014 was a great learning year. I finally started to listen to my body – so that when I was sore I was able to rest properly, and was more consistent with my prehab and rehab. Although I suffered a couple of injuries I was able to bounce back more quickly than before i.e. I didn’t ignore and run through pain this time. I want this to continue for 2015 – and if I could totally avoid getting hurt that would be 100% better.

Run 1500 miles in 2015. In 2014 I managed 1150 miles so an extra 350 can’t be that hard, right? Well, considering I had a few very low mileage (cough*28-looking at you November*cough) months, this seems like a reasonable goal. Ideally, I’d like to go over (classic over-achiever mode), but an average of 125 miles a month sounds like a good target.

PR. PR. PR. PR. I kinda want to get a few shiny new PRs in 2015. I’ll be running marathon number 2 in May, on a net downhill course. I ran my first marathon in October, and I have to admit that I was pretty intimidated by the distance. Would I even be able to run 26.2 miles without hitting the wall and having a miserable time (I did this pretty hard in my first 20 mile training run)? Spoiler alert: the answer of course was yes. I’m totally happy with my time, and this is probably the ideal way to run your first ever marathon. But I feel as if I didn’t really “race” this race. I know I could be setting myself up for a miserable time, but I definitely want to push harder for marathon number 2. I’m not quite sure if I have a Boston qualifier in me just yet (I’d need to run 10 mins faster), but I want to see how close I can get.

As I mentioned in my last post, I’ll be racing my first ever road 5k, and 15K, and my second ever road 10K this spring. These all seem like reasonable PR target races. Flat courses. More miles in my legs. So, why not? As for the half marathon……Well, I PRed in this last April. But that race was so hard. I was hanging on for those last two miles, and really had to have a serious talk with myself to keep going. I got the time I wanted (1.38.57), but I felt as if I could have raced it better. And now, after training for a full marathon, a half marathon no longer seems so scary. My first half of the year will be towards the end of my marathon training schedule so I’m hoping that it’ll pay off with something closer to 1.35 (although I doubt I can make that much of a dent right now).

Do a legit trail race. For the last couple of years I’ve raced in some of the Park City trail race series and had a blast. These races are designed as a way to get people interested in running off-road, and so are on the mellow-er side of things in terms of elevation change and technical difficulty. This year is going to be the year that I sign up for one of those crazy-why would anyone do this for fun-type of trail races that we have out here in Utah. Don’t worry – there are plenty to choose from – most of which go straight up for thousands of feet (fun, right?). Those type of never-ending climbs are a huge physical and mental challenge for me and I’m figuring that this will be one of the harder goals for the year.

Cross-train. Marathon training really ate into my time for other cross-activities this summer and it’s taken me a while to get back into the swing of things. I do not want this top happen for 2015. I think (well I’m hoping) that having made it through one training schedule that my body will be ready to cope with extra activities this time around. My one big aim for this year is to bike to work more: I’ve switched out the tires on my mountain bike to make them more commuter-friendly and got all my crazy-bright lights and a commuter backpack. Now I just have to wait until spring and warmer weather. I also want to continue with swimming as another form of low impact cardio. This should be helped by the new 50-meter pool that is opening in one week right by my work. My mile time is around 36 minutes right now and I’m interested to see where it will get to by the end of the year.

Run with people! 2014 was the first time I got to run with people. Not every run. But on a lot of the tougher trail runs that I might have bailed on if I had to do them alone. And boy, does running with people make the miles fly by. By November, I was hoping to check out our local running club. Then BOOM. Injury. So I’m rolling this over to 2015. It might not be feasible until the marathon is over, but my summer is looking pretty free and easy and seems like exactly the right time to start something new.

Check back in in December to see how things went!

 

24 thoughts on “2015 goals

    • Thanks Lisa! There’s no real way to injury-proof yourself – unfortunately. I’m feeling pretty optimistic about 2015 right now and can’t wait to follow everybody’s marathon training and races.

  1. These are all great goals. The more I run I have come to learn that regardless of who you are or how smart you train/run, injuries are inevitable. To say you are not going to get injured is almost impossible. But to do what you said and manage them wisely is certainly attainable.

    • You are so right and this was the biggest lesson of 2014. Even when I was doing all the “right” stuff my body still rebelled. Oh well. I just have to be extra vigilant and smart about aches and pains.

  2. These are great goals! I’d love to run with people more but a) we live in the middle of nowhere, and b) I’m always worried about pace and whether or not we’re compatible.

  3. FLRunnerBoy says:

    All very attainable and all very realistic Irish!!! And as far as marathon #2 goes, you are going to CRUSH IT!!! I have only one marathon under my belt however facts show that there is a HUGE learning curve between marathons 1 and 2 so I’m sure you’ll get a big PR for sure!!!

    • Thank you! I’ll just imagine you cheering me when I’m struggling at the end of those long runs! I’m hoping that marathon number 2 will be a race. Although my second half was a lot less pleasant than my first :/.

  4. charissarunning says:

    Way to go! A double digit pain-free run and some speedwork?! You’re telling that old injury who’s boss!
    Your goals are also pretty similar to mine. And I know you can BQ! What course are you running in May? I think you could go for it then 😀 Let’s break some major records this year! I’m looking to BQ too, but I probably won’t be going after it till my marathon in October since I’ve gotta take 20 minutes off my time.

    • My marathon is here in Utah. They basically drive you up to the top of a canyon and you run back down to town. It’s downhill but not steep – so it could be fast unless my quads blow up! I’m excited to follow your training this year. And yes let’s get those PRs this year and meet up in Boston in 2016!!!

  5. Wow, great job on your workouts for the week!! Seriously awesome!! 🙂 Also, love your goals!! I’m so happy for you!! It sounds like you’re back on track and loving it!! So wonderful! Have a super week!! XOXO

  6. I love that run that you described! The first post injury run that really feels like “normal”. You finish and are like, “Oh, yeah, that injury thing. What was that again??” Awesome goals for 2015. Go get it!!

  7. I feel exactly the same way about my first marathon in October…that I wasn’t actually racing since the distance was unknown territory. It seems like you will have a BIG PR the next time around! 🙂

  8. You are going to accomplish so much this year…I just know it! I was a little late to the whole running with other people party and have realized that I really love it! I totally agree that I’d like to do more of that this year!

  9. Martha B says:

    Hypochondriac 4 life! 🙂 I’m glad you’re back to being a beast tank.
    Anyway… your goals… I love them, and I am certain you will hit every single one of them. The injury management – I think acknowledging that is the first step to making it happen. Not being injured = more miles. More miles = PRs. And so forth.
    I am digging your trail race goal because that’s my jam. I know you will love it. I have a sneaking suspicion that you are a trail runner at heart. Mind you, I want you to BQ AND then run the crap out of Boston… but still. Trails are sweet.
    The running with people thing – I just finally did this in 2014 too, and it was pretty awesome. I love running with people who are different paces than I am – slower means I can have some comfy recovery runs, faster, and I have to challenge myself and push. Either way, you’re right, those miles fly by! Especially on days when I am not particularly feeling like running.
    Go you go you! 2015 is going to be amazing!

Leave a Reply

