So about those 2014 goals………

Does anyone else feel that blogging is amazingly cathartic? Or has magic powers? In my last post I was talking about my intermittent foot pains, and wondering whether they were real or all in my head. Well, guess what? Those aches disappeared as soon as I hit publish. It’s a Christmas miracle!

And what great timing! Today I cranked up those Christmas tunes and planned out my Christmas Day grocery list. The countdown is on.

Another, less fun countdown is the closure of my pool and gym. Yes, they are both moving to an awesome, brand-spanking new facility even closer to my work, but the gym is out of use til Jan 12th and the pool is closed for 10 days starting this weekend. Not so awesome timing – especially with the amount of food and beverages  that I plan to consume in the next week. Oh well.

Mon: 1750 yd swim

Tues: 5.1 mile trail run (so awesome – raced the sunset!)

Wed: 2000 yd swim

Thurs: 4.7 mile run

This time of year is also a great time to look back at 2014 and see how those pesky goals worked out. So here’s a reminder of the running-related goals that I set myself way back in January. So, how did I do?

1. Stay injury free

This was probably my most ambitious goal for the year. The last third of 2013 was pretty much derailed by injury including a month or two with exactly zero miles. I also had some consecutive injuries from a case of the TMTSs (too much too soon). Looking back, I probably should have reworded this to something like “Minimize risk of serious injury”. Basically, I had hip pain in February that disappeared pretty quickly, but which morphed into knee pain that needed trips to the physiotherapist until August. That sounds like a total fail, right? Well, I don’t think so. Because, during this time I managed to set a half marathon PR (see below) and was able to ramp up my base mileage. At the same time the PT identified my muscle imbalances (basically my whole right leg) and improved my form. I had a brief rest in May with mild foot pain which was cured a 2 week break from running.

But most importantly I completed my 18 week marathon training program (+ the marathon itself) injury-free (I think I skipped 1 run because I was feeling a little sore). The injury that I’m currently recovering from resulted from a case of the NRAMs (not resting after a marathon). I learned the hard way that I need to take two weeks completely off from running after a marathon. Valuable lesson. I did manage to get through the whole year without a zero mileage month (November was the low at 28 miles).

Personally, I think that I learned a lot about listening to my body, being proactive about injury and understanding the importance of rest. And the by-product of all those PT exercises – my legs have never felt stronger.

2. Set a new half marathon PR

This is a definite win. I shaved 3.04 minutes off my PR at the Salt Lake City half marathon. This was a tough race for me (went out too fast and held on for the last couple of miles). I also feel that there are easier courses and would love to get lower into the 1.30s next year.

3. Complete my first full marathon

Yes! I really enjoyed the whole marathon experience. The weeks of training. Those new-to-me distances every week. There were a couple of awful runs and plenty of times I wondered if I was capable of finishing 26.2 miles but it all come together in October with a dream marathon debut at Twin Cities.

4. Run in the Hood to Coast Relay

I can’t believe I never wrote a post about this. But it was amazing! I guess I can do a 6 month look back. 24 hours – minimal sleep (I slept on a tarp for 2 hours in random place Oregon) – 40 min wait for my teammate at 2 AM in the freezing fog – and bringing the team home on the beach. Unforgettable.

5. Run 1000 miles for the year

My yearly mileage ticked over 1000 at some point during the Twin Cities marathon which I think was extra fitting. This seemed like a huge goal at the start of the year – and is more than I’ve ever run in a year by a lot. I’m hoping to tick across 11oo miles for the year. I’ll get back to you in two weeks.

6. Run a sub-7.00 min mile

This was the first goal that I crossed off my list for 2014. I somehow (and totally unexpectedly) managed a 6.36 during my first 10K race of the year! I very rarely see a 6.xx on my Garmin. I think I could count on both hands how many times it’s happened this year. Weirdly, it showed up twice during this race, and then a couple of times during some short tempo runs in marathon training. I’m hoping to become better acquainted with this number in 2015!

How was 2014 for you?

 

20 thoughts on “So about those 2014 goals………

  1. Jane Likes to Run says:

    Awesome job with your goals. That’s frustrating that your pool is closing over the holidays. Maybe you will have to briefly take up snowshoeing!

  2. What an awesome year! It has been so fun following your progress through all of this and I am so glad you are back on the healthy end. Ok but no gym during the holidays?! And they open back up right when all the resolutioners come flocking in?! Yikes!

  3. FLRunnerBoy says:

    That’s one amazing year Irish!!! Way to crush those goals and I’m especially happy to see you made bettering your mile time as one of those goals. Sometimes I think we can get caught up in longer distances and forget about the beauty of the mile. And you get that faster half mary in 2015 😉 my 2014 goals really didn’t come full circle until November. It was to get back to consistent success and make my way back into the PR arena

    • Thanks Lee! Consistency is the key – as you know from your recent PRs. For me that means looking after myself properly. 2014 was all about getting to the starting line for my marathon. I think 2015 will be about hitting the trails and doing more local shorter races. Gotta follow your lead on all those 5K races.

  4. charissarunning says:

    You killed it! Awesome job with those goals! Sometimes you don’t have complete control over the injury aspect and I’d say, you’ve done a great job of recognizing when you need to back off now (which should make 2015 an even better year!). Congrats to you 🙂

    • Thank you so much! As a new runner I had no idea what the year would bring but I am totally happy with how it all went. I think going forward listening to my body, resting and preventing injury will become so much more important. Kudos to you for recognizing that and nailing those rest days.

  5. It’s fun to look back at your 2014 goals and see how you’ve done. (I still need to do this). Sounds like you accomplished a lot of your goals – way to go!

    2014 was a great year for me! I reached many goals. Now I just have to figure out 2015!

    • I like how running gives you tangible goals – like run x miles or finish a particular race. So much easier to check it off at the end of the year rather than something like “eat healthier” or “be a better friend” etc. And if I remember rightly – 2014 was a year of PRs for you!

  6. Martha B says:

    You should be so proud of your 2014… So many accomplishments and now that you’re feeling better, you are totally set up for an amazing 2015. Can’t wait to see what the future brings for you, my speedy friend!

Leave a Reply

