My week in Ireland

What a three weeks! In case you were wondering where I have been………….well I was busy getting married back in Ireland followed by a much needed honeymoon in Italy! It was amazing! And I’m finally recovered and getting back into the swing of things…………Except for the fact that I’m running my first ever marathon on Sunday. Gotta love my planning.

Where to start……well a little bit about our week in Dublin. One word: busy. Forms to fill. Last minute wedding details to organize. Weddings. Partying with family and friends. And a little bit of recovery time. Combined with my last full week of marathon training.

I got to spend some quality time with my doggie-sibling.

IMG_0991

He is a Tibetan spaniel in case you were curious.

Then some beautiful runs in the most amazing weather. Ireland is not generally known for its sunny weather but we had a week of sunshine and no rain. #Miracle.

A quick rewind to the day we flew out from SLC. Don’t worry – we weren’t flying til 5 PM. 12 miles at 8.25 min/mile pace. This run felt awesome (despite my getting completely soaked by mile 4). Maybe due to the fact that I was going on vacation – that’ll always brighten your day.

We got into Dublin on Sunday afternoon and chilled out. Monday – I got to run 5 miles with J along the local canal path. Blue skies and lush, green countryside.

Tuesday afternoon – tempo run along the same path but headed in the opposite direction. 5 miles at 7.25 min/mile pace (including one 7.04 minute mile – thank you altitude training).

Wednesday was a leisurely 10 K with my Mom around a local park. It was pretty.

IMG_0993

Not in Salt Lake anymore!

 

IMG_0992

The River Liffey.

IMG_0994

River views.

IMG_0997

Clear blue skies!

IMG_1003

So much green!

IMG_1004

The little hilly laneway.

Thursday was D-Day. And by D I mean twenty miler day. This was to be the second twenty miler of this training cycle and I was hoping that it would go a lot better than my last one. My Mom has done a bunch of marathons and regularly done her long runs around the Phoenix Park which is just outside Dublin city. So she kindly agreed to act as a guide and bike 20 miles with me (and buy me lunch afterwards!).

I had expected a lot of road running but it turns out my Mom was a trail runner without knowing it and the first 12ish miles consisted of woodland trails, grass and running through freshly cut hay. The second part brought me to a flat and paved canal path. This run went so well. No bonking at all. I felt good at the end and was pretty confident that I could’ve run another 6 miles if I really had to (luckily I went and ate quiche and cheesecake instead).

20 miles at 8.57 min/mile pace

But the best part was my finish.

Mile 16         8.42

Mile 17         8.35

Mile 18         8.26

Mile 19         8.14

Mile 20         7.31

Yes – I somehow managed to finish my 20 mile long run with a 7.31 minute mile. What a way to finish my marathon training.

No aches. No pains. No stomach issues. I felt great for the rest of that day and the next day (which was lucky because Friday was wedding day).

We had a really simple and intimate ceremony with our immediate families followed by the most amazing dinner at one of the best restaurants in the city. Lots of Prosecco, great food and great wine. You know a meal is great when they serve a pre-dessert of raspberry and chocolate macaroons.

A quick and easy run on Satruday – 4.2 miles followed by hanging out in our hotel sauna and jacuzzi. Then more partying – and after living away for awhile I can tell you that Irish people sure know how to party.

Sunday was a true recovery day in every sense of the word. And then Monday was…………..Italy!

14 thoughts on “My week in Ireland

  1. Ohhh my gosh!! Congrats!!! So happy for you!! Wow, what an amazing wedding adventure!! Eeek!! So, sooo cool and your runs…you’re so dedicated!! WOW!! I have a half on Sunday, but you’re running YOUR VERY FIRST MARATHON!! You’re going to rock it!! Have a fab week!! XOXO!!

  2. Congratulations on the wedding and the excellent final week of marathon training! My fiance and I are getting married in a little over two months with a similar very small ceremony. So exciting!

  3. I’m selfish, so I want to know MOOOOOOOOORREEEE about your wedding day. It’s such a teaser lol! I bet you looked stunning on your big day! Once again, lots of happiness and love to both of you! ❤ xoxo Olena

Leave a Reply

