Dun dun dun……………..20 miles this weekend :/

This week has been crazy – who knew that missing one night’s sleep last Saturday during Hood to Coast combined with peak marathon training would leave me so tired. I even switched a morning run to an evening run-commute because my body needed that extra hour in bed. But this is a three day weekend which should leave me plenty of time to catch up on some sleep and the weather out here has taken a definite autumnal vibe so no crack of dawn starts. Plus pumpkin everywhere……..

Monday: Rest – no way anything other than grocery shopping was happening after Hood to Coast

Tuesday: 5.3 miles at 8.57 min/mile pace

Wednesday: 9.3 miles at 7.41 min/mile pace. Great workout but was pretty wiped out that night.

Thursday: 5.9 miles at 8.20 min/mile pace. Easy (and downhill!) run home from work. Morning run was not happening  today. And only had one car not see me as they were turning right on red.

Friday: 1 hour strength workout. Back to pre-6 AM wake-ups. Felt good to get back to the gym. Think my butt might feel it tomorrow.

The plan for this weekend is a quick 5 miles tomorrow morning. And then the big one on Sunday. 20 miles. HOLY CRAP – that’s far. I remember when I first looked at my training plan (13 weeks ago now) I thought that this week seemed impossible. Twenty miles is far. Could I run it? I wasn’t sure. I put my faith in the plan and did my 14, 15, 16, 17 and 18 mile long runs. It’s funny how adding a couple of miles each week suddenly made the 20 miler seem less intimidating. I mean I’m still going to be a little nervous taking my first steps out the door (does this happen to anyone else on their long runs?) but I really believe I can do it and be fine. My last long run (18 miles) went really well and left me believing for the first time that I will be able to run a full marathon.Let’s see how Sunday goes – wish me luck!

My schedule includes two 20 milers with a 12 mile cutback week in between – then taper time. Is it weird that I’m really looking forward to tapering? The main reason for this is that my taper time nicely coincides with my trip back to Ireland (wedding!) and Italy (honeymoon + carb-loading – gelato’s a carb, right?). We are flying back in one week and I am beyond excited but also incredibly busy trying to organize last minute wedding/honeymoon/visa details. But the countdown has started! Woohoo got vacation! And we finally got our wedding rings delivered yesterday so shit is getting real y’all!

I am hoping to get a post about Hood to Coast done this weekend because I really need to tell you guys about how awesome it was! Plus I’ve added a new half marathon to my race calendar (and potential PR target) and have my corral assignment for Twin Cities. So much going on – thank God for Labor Day!

4 thoughts on “Dun dun dun……………..20 miles this weekend :/

  1. Good luck on your 20 miler tomorrow!! I know what you mean about the distance sounding so daunting even though you’re already done 18. I don’t think I’ll ever forget my first 20-miler–I was running with 2 other people and it started to thunderstorm really hard midway through. We waited under the awning of the nearest building until the weather calmed down.

    Sounds like you’re busy with two of the most exciting things in existance! 🙂

  2. After all of the miles you have put in, it is definitely not weird to look forward to tapering, especially if that time will be spent in Europe for your wedding!! Good luck running 20 miles on Sunday!!

Leave a Reply

