Happy 4th of July!

I know I’m a little early. But in one hour’s time I will be leaving work for a much needed camping trip. And a three day weekend!

220px-Stella_Lake_Great_Basin

I plan on hiking to some mountains and lakes. And hopefully getting some trail running in too.

lehmancavesweb

And visiting these awesome caves. Apparently, there’s more to Nevada than Las Vegas.

I do have to mention that after 4.5 years in Utah I finally had my first snake encounter. I met my friend A for an early morning trail run near our work. We had literally been running for 30 seconds when I saw a snake on the left side of the trail. I immediately shrieked and freaked out but A was totally calm and started running right past it. So I followed – and that was it. No rattle. No biting. No attack. And luckily for me no more snakes on the trail.

And what a beast of a trail. I’m currently training for my October marathon but have a couple of trail races in between. Plus mixing it up is key for me to keep my running fun. But 813 ft of elevation change over 5 miles – with 434 ft in mile two. Great workout – 9.49 min/mile pace – and no pain.

Now I’m ready for camping and beer.

Have a great 4th of July holiday!

16 thoughts on “Happy 4th of July!

  1. Martha says:

    Hope your trip is treating you well! The snakes you can see you shouldn’t be afraid of… It’s the ones that are hiding. Enjoy the scenery, and happy 4th!

Leave a Reply

