My first 5K race!

No, this isn’t a flashback Friday where I recount my first ever race experience and how the 5K was a launchpad that set me on my path as a runner. My first race was a half marathon (!) and since then I’ve complete two more halfs, two 10Ks (one road and one trail) and a trail 15K. But I’ve never run a 5K race. Ever.

And it’s not like they are a rare event out here in SLC. Every Saturday I run past a 5K in one of our two local parks. So why haven’t I run one yet? Well, I’m a little cheap and I like more bang for my buck – at my last 10K you could pay $30 to run 6.2 miles or $25 to run 3.1 miles. That’s a no-brainer right there! Plus, 5Ks hurt! When I do tempo runs at 5K pace they are not fun. I seriously question what I am doing. At least in a half marathon you can ease yourself into the HURTZONE, and have a couple (or more) miles at a comfortable pace. But, 3.1 miles – they are all going to hurt.

This summer I signed up for a trail race series – 5, 10 and 15K. Tomorrow is race number 1: the 5K! And that means I’m guaranteed a PR! Woohoo! I’m kinda hoping for a 24 min time but we’ll see – there’s about 250 ft of elevation gain (almost half of which is in the first mile). These races are super fun and have a great raffle so you are almost guaranteed to come away with some kind of running goodie. Race recap on Monday!

The half marathon was only last weekend but seems so long ago. I did just find out that we’ll be getting all of our race photos for free – this is the first race I’ve done that has that option. I haven’t seen them yet but hopefully there’s not too much running-bitchface going on.

I spent an hour on both Sunday and Monday stretching and rolling. My calves are incredibly tight and are causing me foot issues – tight achilles, random pain at the bottom of my foot. I did manage a  2 mile recovery run on Sunday and have been diligently rolling and stretching all week.

IMG_0848

I even packed my stick to bring to work today. Lucky I’m wearing long pants so nobody can see the one-legged calve sleeve that I’m rocking.

Monday: 1 hour stretching/rolling

Tuesday: 3.5 mile run at 8.28 min/mile pace

Wednesday: 5.5 miles at 8.35 min/mile pace

Thursday: 4.2 mile on ellipitcal (equivalent to one whole episode of Scandal)

Friday: 50 min strength workout

By Wednesday my foot was feeling pretty crappy so I swapped out running for cross-training on Thursday and am feeling a gazillion (that’s a number, right?) better.

I’ve also had some pretty good eats. Orange chicken (low in calories but tastes so good).

IMG_0845

And this quinoa tabbouleh recipe which was amazing. Still not happy with the falafel.

IMG_0846

 

Two race weekends in a row! What was I thinking?

 

 

 

30 thoughts on “My first 5K race!

  1. Ooh good luck! I also have never done a 5k, marathons but no 5ks..I’m backwards. I can’t wait to hear about it, maybe you’ll get me all pumped to run my first one in August 🙂

  2. sounds like a fun series! the good thing about 5ks is that they are over relatively quickly! good luck!
    also- I’m so impressed that you spent an hour stretching and rolling on Monday. Not sure if I’ve lasted more than 20 minutes

    • I think I stretched every muscle in my body! It’s a great series – and only about $100 for the 5, 10 and 15K races. But I think time might slow down when you’re racing a 5K!

  3. Lol we’re twins (sort of)! I’ve never done a 10K race before (just 5K’s and half marathons). Okay, rereading my previous statement we are in no way twins… 😉 Can’t wait to see how well you do!

  4. You are crazy sauces, thus not thinking 😀 PS, thanks for sharing that chicken, I just checked it out and HELL YES. I too have a tendency for the tight-calve- achilles -arch pain boogie. I wish I had a raffle to appease them with… Have a great weekend, my friend, and have a fun race!

Leave a Reply

