National Running Day!

I run for

Happy National Running Day everyone! I hope you got out for a run today.  And, if you’re injured I hope that you were able to cope with reading about it.
Running is definitely MY time. I usually am by myself – no music, no distractions – just me and my thoughts. It gives me time to process all of the stuff going on in my life. Allows me to really appreciate my health and my body. Training for – and finishing – my half marathons has given me a huge sense of accomplishment. It has also changed the way I feel about myself, and I’m not just talking about the obvious stuff like losing a couple of lbs and toning up my legs. Growing up I was always a quiet and shy person, always anxious in social situations and a little afraid of being judged negatively by anyone I happened to meet. Running (and being pretty OK at it) has boosted my self-confidence. It has made me appreciate how awesome I can be. And made me proud of myself. I don’t worry so much about what people think about me because I know that I can do hard things. I can get up at 545 AM and go for a run. I can push myself hard. I can commit to a months-long training plan and see it through. I can run 10.5 miles in the rain and enjoy it. I run for me – for my legs, my lungs and my mind.

30 thoughts on “National Running Day!

  1. I love your post and I agree, running has definitely boosted my self-esteem, too!!! It serves so many wonderful purposes!!! I love it!! Happy National Running Day!! XOXO!!

    • Thank you! I’m glad today I heard about today – it really made me think about (and appreciate) what running has done for me! Now I have to prep for National Gingerbread day!

  2. I really like this post. I almost feel like I have gotten more out of my running on a mental level than physical. I am so much more confident than I used to be. Love it!

  3. Totally agree with all of the above. It has been such a huge self confidence booster for me as well. Such a great post! I hope you had a wonderful run holiday yesterday!

  4. Ahh.. it killed me that I couldn’t run on NRD. All my running friends posted about the great runs they had (in absolutely perfect weather.. just to add salt to the wound!) But, since I’m not allowed to run for at least another week.. possible more b/c I still feel my foot is not 100% right now, I did some weight lifting and cycling instead. I agree with your notion of self confidence- there’s nothing like a 10 mile run to make you feel like you can conquer the world!

    • Sorry to hear that you’re still out of action! Hope you have a speedy recovery. When I was first out injured I did not want to hear about anybody’s runs – it must’ve been even harder on NRD.

  5. dawn @ running the dawn says:

    i agree! running gives healthy self-esteem boosts. i love when i get up early, work hard, and then get to go through my whole day thinking…i ran 10 miles this morning, what did you do?

Leave a Reply

