Weekly recap

 

 

 

 

 

Saturday started out with a double digit run. Foot was fine. Knee was meh. But the run felt great.

The first 2.5 miles were on trail – and still no rattlesnake/tarantula sightings – followed by 8 mostly downhill miles on the road. The half I’m schedule to run in 2 (!) weeks is net downhill and I want to make sure my quads can cope. I took it pretty easy (8.45 min/mile pace), took my chocolate Gu at mile 6 and finished pretty strong. I even managed to avoid getting sunburnt – by avoiding the bright side of the street and hitting the dark side of the road.

A good mornings work. Followed by refueling with my favorite foods – chocolate milk, berries + yoghurt, and my signature egg/avocado/bacon toasted sandwich.

IMG_0798

I then did my PT exercises in front of this.

IMG_0799

Saturday afternoon/evening was spent at a friends wedding. So much fun.

IMG_0806

Beautiful venue.

IMG_0805 IMG_0807

Cakes!

IMG_0810 IMG_0813

Pretty! And the food was so good.

This was a late night for me but I still managed to meet some friends (and Hood to Coast team mates) for a Sunday morning trail run. This was actually in the same canyon as the wedding. 5.50 nice and slow recovery miles. I’m really digging running with other people – it definitely makes the miles go quicker.

Total mileage for the week: 25.85 miles (I am back!)

May mileage: 57.8 miles

May was not the greatest month for me – with two weeks completely free of running. But I’m trying to be more sensible about dealing with injuries – resting early and trying not to run through pain. And this totally worked for my (self-diagnosed) foot tendonitis.

However, it this derailed my half marathon training plan. I had hoped to PR this race but this layoff gave me the perfect opportunity to re-evaluate my goals for this race (no PR – but controlled and sensible race pace) and focus on putting the fun back in running. So hitting more of Utah’s scenic trails and badgering people to come run with me.

Next up: June and the start of marathon training! Holy crap – I am totally intimidated by the thought of running 26.2 miles. I need as much advice as I can get. And maybe a new knee/glute.

What do you wish you knew before you started training for your first marathon?

 

24 thoughts on “Weekly recap

  1. ultraboycreates says:

    If I had to say what I wish I knew before marathon training it would be ‘ know how to take good advice and how to avoid the nonsense’

  2. Oh god…things I wish I knew…definitely to practice nutrition on every single long run. It’s harder than it seems to fuel for 26 miles and not fueling properly is why you hit the wall. Also at least 10 other things haha.

  3. That wedding dessert table looks amazinggggg. I love the decor! Marathon training advice is to take your time. With everything. It is a MARATHON after all. Not a sprint πŸ˜‰ Give yourself plenty of rest, and be flexible.

  4. OMG! You rock! I can’t believe you went for a run after being a guest at a wedding. I am not sure if something is wrong with me, but when I dance, I can barely move the next morning ahahah! πŸ˜€ When is your marathon?! It must be so exciting. I know you can do it, so don’t be intimidated. Before I wasn’t even considering running a marathon one day, but now it is definitely in the plans. xoxo Olena

    • I never thought I’d run one either but it seemed like a good idea in January. If I hadn’t arranged a group run on Sunday I would easily have stayed in bed for another 3 hours – I was so tired that night.

  5. Nice! Haha, love the cake! I also made an egg – avocado sammy after my run on Saturday. Yes, I agree, running with others helps so much. On Sunday I ran trails with friends. After 3 miles I was about ready to quit, but then we saw another group of friends and ran another three with them!
    As for what I learned my first marathon….I could write a huuuge list! Mainly – cross train, wear proper shoes/gear, eat right throughout the week, don’t increase mileage too quickly. that’s a good start

  6. I’m excited to hear about your marathon training! What do I wish I knew before I started training for my first marathon? How many hours do you have? πŸ˜€ Haha but seriously…foam rolling, icing and strength training were not even in my vocabulary the first time around and they are absolutely essential! Also, make sure you have a good plan for nutrition and hydration (and don’t forget about electrolytes like I did!) The best advice I can give though is just keep a positive attitude and enjoy your experience. There will be ups and downs, but what you are doing is an amazing challenge and will be so worth it in the end!

    • Already have the foam roller :/. But you’re right – I’ll only have one first marathon so I need to remember to enjoy it. The other stuff – I can harass all of you guys about that in the next 18 weeks.

  7. That skiing cake is AMAZING. What a beautiful spot for a wedding. πŸ™‚
    Your training starts so soon! I think you are going to be pretty well prepared for it. The one thing that I was NOT prepared for was how much it would hurt at the end. Like I felt like I had been hit by a truck most of the time. It definitely makes it easier to take the taper seriously though!

    • I think I’ll have to bookmark your taper post! Seeing J at the end of Chicago made me decide then and there that I would never run a marathon. He was so beat. Hitting the wall is the part that scares me most.

Leave a Reply

