Trail dreamin’

Today was the second ever Thursday Trailday. Last week I did my first outside run post injury with a local trail running and group. Today I met my friend A at 7.30 AM for a run on the trail right by my work.

One of the positive things about taking an unscheduled (and unwanted) period away from running was the time it gave me to really think about why I loved running. And how I needed to refocus a little on making it more fun. Running the same routes around my neighborhood was getting a little stale. So what’s a runner to do to spice things up? In Salt Lake City we get on trails.

And trails round these parts means lots of hills. Check out mile 2 – 400 ft increase in a mile. It was tough. And my calves were burning. But at the top you earn a pretty view over the city.

elevation

There’s something satisfying to me about the symmetrical shape of this elevation chart.

IMG_0796

At the top of Dry Creek looking at downtown SLC.

And on trails you definitely earn your downhills. Downhill trail running is so much fun – although I still feel like I’m applying the breaks when it gets steep or rocky. A is an awesome mountain biker and kills the downhill sections. I’m hoping some of this will rub off on me and I’ll be better prepared for my three trail races over the summer.

Lucky for me I could take a shower at work and then eat breakfast at my desk.

IMG_0797

I love berry season! And had some homemade chocolate chip zucchini bread.

And the absolute best part of the run? It was completely pain free. No foot pain. And no knee pain. Best run in months. I’m finally dreaming of consistent pain-free running. And this is the best timing possible because marathon training starts next week.

How was your morning?

22 thoughts on “Trail dreamin’

  1. Yay for no pain! I had a fun date with historical theory this morning in the form of two very long-winded books so not the best morning ever, but productive 🙂

  2. I love berry season too! I am so glad you are back and feeling better and loving your running. Trails are such a nice way to mix it up and remind you why you love it so much.

  3. That is a serious hill! I’m so happy that you are running pain free!!! And just in time too. 🙂 I’m so looking forward to following your marathon training!

  4. dawn @ running the dawn says:

    wow, i can’t believe that you were pain free on that run! my knees hurt just thinking about that elevation 🙂

  5. Martha B says:

    I love a good trail run. That elevation map is ridiculously symetrical, and I’m sure that big downhill was fun. I like downhills too, but sometimes I feel like my stomach is going to come out of my mouth 🙂
    Hooray for injury free, and I’m so glad I found your blog! Have a great weekend!

  6. Yay for the pain free!!!!!! Here’s to all your runs staying that way!
    There has to be an ole Irish saying about this – “may the trail rise up to meet you, may your neither your legs or knees defeat you’ ??? Maybe?

Leave a Reply

