In a funk

If you read my blog regularly you might see me as a positive person. Or not. But that’s what I try to be. Focus on the good things and do my best. In running and in life.

But some days are not so positive. Some days all the things that have been bothering me come together and are just too overwhelming. Luckily, this doesn’t happen very often and usually doesn’t last long. But it’s a feeling that there is so much to do and there’s no way I can get it all under control that I feel mentally paralyzed. Things like – where will we be living and working next year (we are on work visas right now), how will we ever afford a house or retirement, all the really big things that don’t have easy answers.

I’ve learned that I need to let the stress overwhelm me for a day. Wallow a little. Recognize that life will find a way – and I’m not going to end up homeless on the streets. But that paralyzing feeling is scary. A feeling of helplessness and hopelessness. For me this feeling is fleeting. And I’m grateful for that.

I know that tomorrow will be better. And after that I’ll be back to my usual self. But today I needed to be alone and to focus on the good things that are coming up for me this summer (first marathon, Hood to Coast and wedding).

17 thoughts on “In a funk

  1. Oh now wondering you are feeling overwhelmed. A wedding and a marathon (I did that combo last summer!). Don’t worry you will be great and we are all allowed to be in a funk from time to time. The positive energy will be back soon. Running can always help lighten the mood and straighten things out in your head.

  2. I think it’s so important to take a step back from it all sometimes and focus on the positive. I tend to do the same thing that you do…sunshine and rainbows as much as I can and then suddenly everything scary that I don’t have much control over right now or any easy answers for will hit me like a ton of bricks. I’m sorry that you have been feeling down, but it’s DEFINITELY allowed! Life is tough! I hope you have a wonderful day today. Treat yourself to something!

    • Thanks for your kind words. I’m glad to know that other people feel this way. Lucky for me I made a giant carrot cake for J’s birthday this weekend that I am working my way through.

  3. 11315miles says:

    Understand totally, I get like that from time to time. I’m in the process of making some major life changes too this year. It can be overwhelming. After you run your first marathon your outlook will change drastically.

  4. I understand what you’re talking about here!! I definitely need time to think about everything before getting over it!! That’s healthy and natural to do! I’m thinking about you! XOXO!

  5. sometimes it feels so good to lean in to the funk. the more i try to pretend that i’m not worried or that nothing is wrong it tends to compound and fester. when i let it wash over me, i usually come out the other side with more energy and a refreshed perspective. you will too!

Leave a Reply

