Weekly recap

I can’t believe it’s been over a week since my half marathon and it’s almost the end of April! Yikes! Where does the time go?

This has been a pretty easy week for me. A reverse taper – nothing too hard running wise and lots of stretching, rolling and strength work.

Monday: 4 mile recovery run at 9.07 min/mile pace. I think this helped loosen up my legs. I felt great afterwards!

Tuesday: Strength work at the gym

Wednesday: 4.3 miles nice and slow at 8.48 min/mile pace

Thursday: AM yoga class. Post work trail run. 4.5 miles at 9.24 min/mile pace with 472 ft elevation gain.

Friday: Rest day!

Saturday: 3 mile progression run – 8.00/7.48/7.35. Heavy rain all day and even though I’m Irish running in torrential rain does not appeal to me at all. Decided to take advantage of the treadmill to maintain pace and felt good. I think having a rest day on Friday meant I was back to normal today.

Sunday: Long run. 9.2 miles at 8.30 min/mile pace. This run felt good. Even pace despite a steady elevation gain for the middle third.

Weekly total; 25 miles/40.2 KM

April total: 98.5 miles/158.5 KM

ARTWRBR total: 215.1 miles/346.2 KM

My next half marathon is only 7 weeks away! My goal for this race is (1) to PR and (2) to finish strong. The last 4 miles of the Salt Lake half were really tough and I felt like I was hanging on at the finish. I would love to not feel like death as I make my way down to the finish line at Utah Valley. So the plan is to keep the mileage to at least 25 but preferably closer to 30 miles per week and slowly increase the length of my long runs to 13+ miles. This should also prep me for marathon training which will probably begin on June 16th.

Here are some pictures of my post race week comfort foods.

IMG_0746

Tofu in peanut-siracha sauce.

IMG_0747

Latin beef stew with spinach salad and spicy habanero salsa.

IMG_0748

Veggie burger with cilantro-lime mayo, roast sweet potato and couscous salad.

IMG_0749

Yum raspberries! And J’s egg, avocado and cream cheese ciabatta sandwiches.

16 thoughts on “Weekly recap

  1. Seriously I’m with Carson. Can you make us dinner? You always have the best looking food on here. Sounds like you had a great week. The next 7 weeks is going to FLY!

Leave a Reply

