Day 66 – Hard runs are hard

Today was my first run in April. And it’s still cold. 37F – still wearing winter running clothes and gloves. Sigh.

Wednesdays are my hard work out days. And if I’m honest I usually need to psyche myself up in order to leave the house. Why? Because they usually hurt. But you don’t get stronger or faster by not pushing yourself, right? Unless you all know some secret where I can just do easy runs and still get better?

Tempo day. First mile is downhill and a warm up to get my legs used to increased turnover – 7.40 mins. Then 3 miles around the local park – 7.11, 7.15, 7.18 pace. The first two miles felt OK but that third mile was hard. I was trying to figure out if my body or my mind that wanted to quit more. I’m pretty sure it was my brain but I just couldn’t convince myself to push any more. I was a little disheartened but then I decided that I was doing just fine and to just run at an easy pace back home. Total distance 5.3 miles at 7.50 min/mile pace.

It got me thinking about how running is much more than a physical task. How we really have to train our brains to keep going when things get hard and we want to quit. For me the hardest part of training is getting my mind and body on the same page. Running long training runs on your own definitely toughens me up.

Bonus: pain-free run! Woohoo!

April mileage: 5.3 miles/8.5 KM

ATWRBR mileage: 121.9 miles/196.2 KM

12 thoughts on “Day 66 – Hard runs are hard

  1. Running is definitely a mind game as well as a physical one! I wanted to mention to you that I actually am going to Dublin in August and running my second half marathon over there then staying for 5 days to tour the countryside, etc. Any must see/interesting things to check out!?

    • OMG! That sounds like so much fun. I have never ran a race in Ireland.

      There is a tonne of cool stuff to see and it’s a pretty small island so you can pack a ton in. Just be prepared for narrow roads. Personally, I love the west coast – head over to Galway (party city) and you can tour around Connemara or maybe catch a ferry out to some of the islands. The cliffs of Moher in Clare are also amazing. And the Ring of Kerry near Killarney and the beaches around Dingle (Inch strand maybe?) is so pretty. Alternatively you can always head up north to Belfast and visit the Antrim coast and the Giant’s causeway.

      Make sure to spend a few days in Dublin – it’s such a vibrant city. Lots of bars and restaurants (locals head for the south side near Georges Street) and history (my favorite is Kilmainham Gaol). And if you’re really into histroy you can check out Glendalough monastery in Wicklow or Newgrange in Kildare (it’s older than the pyramids).

      Hope that’s a start for your planning!

      • Thanks so much for the information! That’s great! I actually think a lot of places you mentioned, are on our list. We’re definitely going to Cliffs of Moher and I’m pretty sure headed to Galway, we’re seeing a few castles and I believe visiting the Jameson distillery! I’m so excited! I’ve been to Italy twice but never to Ireland! 🙂

  2. Hooray for pain free! That is an excellent run!
    I wish we could just get better by taking it easy, but you’re right. You have to push it. That’s what I told myself yesterday as I struggled through my 800’s on the treadmill.

Leave a Reply

