Day 65 – April, is that you?

Tuesday is a rest day for me. That is probably a good thing. Not only do I get to rest my knee and look after my hips/glutes but it was snowing again. Almost all day. Looking out the window it looked like January all over again. Needless to say I had no desire to go outside at ll. So I went to yoga.

For me yoga is always a little humbling. I have a strong core so all the power moves are usually OK but as soon as we have to do anything that requires flexibility in hips – Uh uh that ain’t happening. It reminds me that everyone has their own strengths. And we all have things that we need to work on.

Because the weather was so crappy I needed some comfort food. And for me that translates to mashed potatoes. (I know Irish girl likes potatoes…….cliche). I decided to health it up by making it 50:50 with parsnips. A vegetable that is surprising hard to find in Utah. I also cooked up some leeks – another uncommon vegetable over here. And I’m trying to eat more fish – so this week it was salmon cooked with lemon juice and dried thyme.

IMG_0701

I then did what all runners love to do – register for races! Last summer I ran in a couple of trail races in Park City that were so much fun. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to do some or all of these races again this year. But looking at a preliminary marathon training schedule these races seem like a perfect fit. The price was also going to increase tomorrow so I made the decision to register for a 5K, 10K and 15K in June, July and August respectively. And all for about $90. This brings my number of races for the year to 7 – not including the Hood to Coast Relay. I guess this is the year to go big or go home!

RUN-2012_GLASSES_4-04 RUN-2012_GLASSES_4-03 RUN-2012_GLASSES_4-02

 

13 thoughts on “Day 65 – April, is that you?

  1. Signing up for races is always fun and exciting!! New goals!! I’m glad you enjoyed your yoga class and you’re right, yoga is humbling!! 🙂 Great work!!

  2. Carol Ann S says:

    Your Dinner looks wonderful. I like mixing cauliflower with my mashed to healthify them, will have to give parsnips a go. Love the badges for your trail races, they look fun!

    • I hadn’t thought of cauliflower I must remember that for next time. I also added some Greek yoghurt instead of milk/butter. The race gives pint glasses with the badges printed on them which I think is pretty cool.

  3. I also did a similar type deal with a 5k, 10k and mine was a 10 miler. I ended up not being able to run the 10 miler because I broke my toe two days before the race like a dummy!!

Leave a Reply

