Day 52 – Biting the bullet

Last night we had some butternut squash and black bean enchiladas for dinner. I also had black beans for lunch. I think I’m going through a phase.

.IMG_0666

These last two weeks have involved running in the dark. But at least I have my super attractive running vest.

IMG_0667

This morning was a tempo run. First mile at 8.30 ish min/mile pace, followed by 2.5 miles at 7.15 min/mile pace and then a slow mile home. It actually felt surprisingly OK. Still hard but a couple of weeks ago I was really struggling to maintain this pace and now it was at about 80% effort. It seems as if everything is finally coming together. Which is good as my half marathon is exactly one month from today! Yikes.

If you read my blog you probably know that I’m all about living a healthy lifestyle. I love to exercise and try to eat as healthy as I can. But I have to confess that there is one area of my life that I seriously neglect – my mouth. Specifically visiting my dentist. I mean I still brush my teeth all the time – I’m not that gross. But I have a really strong aversion to the dentist.

So after 4 (I know!) years I knew it was long past time to bite the bullet.

IMG_0668

Ah dentist humor!

I made a pact with myself this year to no longer put off things that made me anxious – going to the dentist, filing my taxes, sorting out my visa, planning my wedding……….

It went ok. Nowhere near as bad as I had been imagining. And not too much shaming for my lack of visits. Two cavities which I’ll fix next week and a good cleaning. He did mention that I should think about having my wisdom teeth removed and casually said that I would be a good candidate for complete sedation during this procedure. I bet he says that to all his overly-anxious patients. My new goal is to not let anxiety get in the way of my health again!

IMG_0669

At least they had a pretty Japanese style garden to ponder on during my visit.

March mileage: 64.8 miles/104.3 KM

 

8 thoughts on “Day 52 – Biting the bullet

  1. You and me both on the dentist thing. I really need to make an appointment too, but I’m so scared of him. You just inspired me and I think you inspired my dinner as well. (mmmm jalapenos!)

    What an awesome view from the dentist chair!

  2. WalkToRio says:

    I had a huge fear of dentist too. But the current is great, all of the sudden I enjoy going for a check up and cleaning. Last time he asked me not to go back in 6 months.
    Talk about extremes.

  3. I love going to the dentist. I realize this makes me a total weirdo.

    I have never made butternut squash, but have one sitting in my refrigerator right now begging me to find a recipe and try it out. To be honest, I can’t even remember if I have ever eaten eat. I bought it on a whim.

    • Maybe your medical background means your immune to doctor or dentist anxiety? đŸ˜‰

      If you like sweet potatoes you will love butternut squash. My only problem is finding a sharp knife to cut it without cutting myself in the process.

Leave a Reply

