Day 44 – Moab Day 2

A weekend camping + Daylight savings change + 6 AM run + 10.5 hour work day = glass of wine with dinner

Yesterday was tough! But I made it. Managed to do both commutes in the dark :(. Lucky past me had put chicken in the Crockpot earlier in the morning so dinner was a breeze. If I’m feeling really lazy I just pour a jar of Trader Joe’s salsa verde over some chicken thighs and let it do its thing.

Today is a rest day which I was pretty happy about when I looked outside and saw that winter had made a brief return. I made it to the gym and did some strength training. Honestly, I wasn’t feeling it this morning – everything felt a little harder and I managed a grand total of zero pull-ups and 21 push-ups. Not getting closer to my goal. Oh well……..

March mileage: 39.45 miles/63.5 KM

Back to my second day in Moab. I had hoped to get a long run in while I was camping – 9ish miles was on the schedule and after a bit of researching I found a perfect loop in Deadhorse State Park.

IMG_0634

This is a newish trail system with a 9 mile Big Chief loop that is designed for novice mountain bikers (so not too technical and not too much elevation). For the first time in forever I decided to bring my phone with me as I had a feeling this would have some amazing views.

IMG_0627

The trail starts by following the cliff rim overlooking the Colorado river.

IMG_0630

I think this was Pyramid Canyon overlook.

IMG_0632

The first half was over a lot of slickrock with a few short climbs.

IMG_0633

This was the final overlook – looking at the La Sal mountains.

IMG_0636IMG_0635

The second half was mostly dirt road – less technical and a lot easier to run on.

I did my post run stretches looking at this view.

IMG_0638

Not bad. The only downside was that the loop was only 8.4 miles so I had to run some asphalt to get my distance in. Great morning and great place to run.

9 thoughts on “Day 44 – Moab Day 2

  1. Every time I read your posts it makes me want to move! Your pics always make New England seem so blah to me! One of these days I’m going to have to go trail running and take pictures just so everyone can say “Wow, Massachusetts seems boring!” Lol.

  2. I did my post run stretches today looking at an office park piled with filthy snow. You win.

    Seriously though, I LOVE Moab and wish I could try trail running out there!

    • LOL! Most of my stretching is done on my porch trying not to start into my neighbors front room.

      Moab rocks! Would definitely recommend it for trail running, or biking, or climbing………

Leave a Reply

