Day 39 – Tempo run

Last night we had a quick pasta dinner before hitting the climbing gym. Chicken and mushrooms in a white wine sauce. After I took this photo I dumped a ton of broccoli on my plate. Gotta eat your greens.

IMG_0584

My PT has OKed me to some tempo work. Yay!?! I decided today was the day to start. The plan was a warm up mile – at about 8.00 min/mile pace – and then 15 mins at 5K pace. Mile one was 7.17 min pace and mile two was 7.21 pace. Not bad. Then a coo-down 1.17 mile (uphill) back home. Overall 4.17 miles at an average of 8.32 min/mile pace. I think. My Garmin was acting a little funny today – ignoring my time spent waiting at the traffic lights and adding a mystery 400 ft elevation gain. WTF?

After work we spent the evening getting ready for our first camping trip of the year. I can’t wait. We’re heading down to southern Utah for the weekend and plan to hike and trail run. The highs should be in the low to mid 60s. Sunny and beautiful scenery. I’m planning to do my long run down there on Sunday and will plan to bring my camera on this one. Here’s a taster of what we’ll be looking at all weekend.

small-towns-red-rock-m

March total: 22.62 miles/36.4 KM

Leave a Reply

