Day 34 – Running hard hurts

Lat night I was seriously craving some comfort food but I wanted to keep it as healthy as possible. So I went for sweet potato nachos. You just bake sweet potato slices with paprika, garlic powder and cayenne and then add your favorite nacho toppings. I like toppings.

IMG_0563

We had this with a tofu version of buffalo wings. Lots of Frank’s hot sauce and arugula with ranch dressing on the side. It hit the spot.

IMG_0564

We ate this while watching Nebraska. I really liked it. A dark comedy/drama about family. It’s shot it black and white and really shows off the lonely landscape of the state.

This morning was a run I’d been dreading for the last couple of days. I’m a little weird in that as soon as I finish my run I start thinking about what my next run will be like. This was scheduled to be a 3 mile threshold run. Ughh. Plus, we are forecast rain pretty much all day Saturday.  Double ughh.

I woke up to overcast skies but no rain so I decided I just needed to go for it and get it over with. 3 miles isn’t that far really. Well the first mile stunk – a strong head wind that nearly sent my had flying off a couple of times. It takes me a little while to get into my stride for these shorter runs -8.03 minutes. After that I got into a comfortably hard (oxymoron?) pace. And miles two and three were 07.19 and 07.21 respectively. Helped by  a little tail wind. Very happy with those times. Also, no knee pain – lots of “Oh God my lung” and “Is this nearly over?” pain. Maybe the key to this knee issue is always to distract myself with gut-busting pace.

I also wanted to get back early so I could make breakfast for J who was doing his long run today as part of his marathon training. What can I say I like to show my love through food. I made my now usual granola and smoothies (I’m saving mine for after my long run tomorrow). I made zucchini bread with chocolate chips (from skinnytaste). It came out pretty well and it’s always a bonus getting to have chocolate for breakfast.

IMG_0565IMG_0567

I also made one of our regular camping breakfast. Toasted bagels with bacon, cream cheese, and a fried egg. Tasted just as good inside as it does in a tent.

I thin my run energized me for the day – I got 2 hours of work stuff done, cleaned the house and got in a climbing session at the gym. Now time to relax with some wine and J cooking dinner for me. Solid start to March.

March run total: 3 miles/4.8 KM.

I’m signed up for the Around the World Running Blog Relay 2014 so I’m keeping track of my March and April mileage. You should sign up!

 

One thought on “Day 34 – Running hard hurts

Leave a Reply

