Day 28 – What a difference a day makes

24 little hours. And a total turnaround.

If you read my blog yesterday you’ll know that I did not have a good run. I decided that today would be an awesome run and the power of positive thinking definitely worked.

Last night we had some friends over for dinner and my friend I made this. It was amazing. And no we don’t always make people cook for us when we invite them over for dinner. We have season tickets for a local theater and alternate who cooks dinner and since we live about a 5 min drive from the theater it’s usually at our place. I made dessert. Thank you again skinnytaste. Tasty as always – strawberry and rhubarb crisp (if you’re from the US)/crumble for Irish/British folks.

IMG_0531

Then it was shome Shakespeare – Much Ado about Nothing. Pretty good but not the best play of the season.

IMG_0530

So back to today. I woke up feeling great to a beautiful sunny morning. And I was running a new route. Win win win. My first race of the year is on March 15th so I wanted to get a feel for the course because it’s in an area of Salt Lake that I have never run in before and the elevation change looked a little scary. My run started at the Utah State Capitol.

IMG_0532

I was planning on running up City Creek which is about a mile from here – unless you’re like me and take the wrong turn and add an extra  0.75 miles. Once you reach the turn for City Creek it’s hard to believe that you’re so close to downtown. The road was closed to traffic and besides a few other runners and walkers I felt like I was by myself running in the wilderness. So beautiful. But because I don’t bring my phone with me on runs you’ll just have to take my word for it.

The first 4 miles were non-stop uphill – about 635 ft in total. Not too steep but continuous and my mile splits were all about 9.40 min/mile. Felt pretty good. No knee pain at all. Felt like I could run forever. Although when I saw the turnaround point I was happy start the downhill portion. I lost about 700 ft in 4.5 miles. Fun! I was running with a smile on my face and it felt so good to be outside.

The run finished in Memory Grove Park. 8.38 miles at 8.41 min/mile average pace. I am now looking forward to the race and I’m 100% sure that I’ll negative split and maybe sneak in a PR.

After the run my legs felt a little tight and the day was so nice that I went for a 1 mile stroll around the State Capitol and Memory Grove. It’s days like this that I’m so glad that I live here. It was really such a great morning and so special considering how crappy yesterday was. Definite runner’s high!

IMG_0534

View downtown and west to the Oquirrh mountains.

IMG_0536

We are the beehive state.

IMG_0541

The Capitol from Memory Grove.

IMG_0544

Meditation Chapel. Cool pink marble.

IMG_0546

City creek.

Afterwards I refueled with homemade granola (my new favorite thing) and a BLT + avocado. Ready to face the day!

IMG_0549

3 thoughts on “Day 28 – What a difference a day makes

Leave a Reply

