Day 25 – Routine

3.88 easy miles today – 8.59 min/mile pace. It felt good to get the miles in and I feel much stronger than when I trained for my first half marathon last year. The runs seem easier and I think I might be the leanest I’ve ever been. Plus I’m starting to feel like I have a normal person’s knee again. This injury is going away. Not quite gone but definitely on its way out. Right now I am 99% confident that I will make it to the starting line of this half marathon. And tomorrow is a rest day so I can’t trip and fall and bust myself up.

Today TartanJogger was talking about her running routine on her blog and this got me thinking about my half marathon schedule.

I like lists. Well really I like the satisfaction of crossing things off my list. I do this everyday in the lab, for my grocery shopping (see below) and for my running plan.

Image

I have every run until my half marathon planned and written down – handwritten cos I’m old school like that . I run every Monday (recovery), Wednesday (medium) and Thursday (easy), with a short run on Saturday and my long run on Sunday. I like filling in my mileage on my calendar and tracking how much I’ve ran so far this year (hoping to get to 1000 miles). It works for me. What can I say, I’m a scientist – I love data!

Speaking of work  (and yesterday’s post about what Utah rocks) here is my view from work. It’s pretty.

Image

Dinner last night was left over pineapple chicken. I really love egg noodles – for some reason rice noodles give me the ick. Extra veggies of course!

Image

Can you believe tomorrow is Friday?

Image

6 thoughts on “Day 25 – Routine

  1. Jane Likes to Run says:

    Haha. This sounds exactly like me with the handwritten lists. And I’m a scientist add well so if must go hand in hand!

Leave a Reply

