Day 22 – Start of Week 4! Already!

So far I’ve completed three full weeks of half marathon training. And it has flown by. No tempo runs or hill work but I’m still able to run and have the done all the mileage I had planned. So I counting this as a win. Hip pain gone. Right quad still a little tight and knee pain is still lingering. But I’m improving – feeling stronger, running better and I think my injury is improving. My next race is a little over a month away and I’m really looking forward to it. Plus it’s a St Patrick’s Day themed race with hidden leprechauns.

This morning was a recovery run. I seriously heavy legs but managed to get 4 miles in at 9.18 min/mile pace. It felt slow and not the most fun run I’ve ever done but I did it. Sometimes these runs are the hardest but I think they help with mental aspect of training. Pushing through when you know your body can handle it but your mind wants to give up.

Today is a holiday – President’s Day. I think the US really has it’s act together having a holiday in January and February just when you need a break from winter. So my run was in actual daylight – no headlamp! And a sunrise. Plus a shortened day at work and an afternoon core session.

Got another episode of Scandal under my belt. That show is seriously awesome.

Dinner last night was a pasta bake. I’ve been making a bunch of these lately. This one had bacon, onions, mushrooms and spinach in a butternut squash sauce. Plus a whole lot of mozzarella and parmesan on top. It’s never too early to carb load right? Served with roasted brussel sprouts – they’re not just for Christmas. Rest day tomorrow and I need it!

Image

3 thoughts on “Day 22 – Start of Week 4! Already!

  1. Carol Ann S says:

    Tried brussel sprouts for the first time at 46 years old, now I can’t get enough of them!! The pasta bake looks great also!!

Leave a Reply

