Sunday Recap

It’s Super Bowl Sunday! After 4 years in the US I can (mostly) follow a game of football. Is it weird that I’m looking forward to the food and ads more? Or, is that just everyone?

Image

Today started with the first long slow run of my half marathon training. I went out slow and comfortable and tried to maintain that feeling for the whole run. I had my Garmin to keep track of mileage (it helpfully beeps after every mile) but wanted to run by feel and effort. It felt pretty good. My left butt held up – probably 0.5 on a 10 point scale of pain. The PT says I can run as long as I’m not over 3 on this scale. My legs felt a little heavy to start – not surprising considering this was my fourth day or running in a row and the day after a speedy run. I feel like I’m back! Woohoo!

Mileage this week: 19.05 miles – probably my last week in the teens for a while

5 runs – added an extra day this week

1 tempo run – felt hard but happy with my splits

5.35 mile long run – longest run this year

2 strength workouts

1 yoga class

Good week. Visiting the PT has definitely taken away my anxiety about getting injured. I even signed up for my first full marathon. Bring on week 2!

 

Leave a Reply

