Returning from injury………..and trying not to be paranoid about SLH

Today started with some Crockpot prep. I love my Crockpot and use it as often as I can. Today is carnitas. Yum. I guess the only downside is having to wait 8 hours til I can eat. Patience is not my strong point when it comes to food.

Image

The air quality is still pretty good so I decided to take advantage and run outside. Two days in row. Amazing. I also decided to wear my cool new socks. A friend recommended these socks after having trouble with blisters during training for her first marathon. They feel a little weird at first but after a while you totally forget you’re wearing them.

Image

Today is my last run before half marathon training begins. I’ve been doing a return to running program after being diagnosed with hip bursitis way back in October. This meant no running for 6 whole weeks, which was pretty depressing. Strange since I spent the first 30ish years of my life not running! After this I did a 1:5 x 5 program. Walking for 5 mins followed by running for 1 min. Repeated 5 times. I gradually increased the duration of the running portion until I could run for a full 30 mins. Then I started running every second day for 30 mins and increasing time running by about 5 mins for one run a week.

Today was scheduled to be 45 mins. I ran 5.32 miles at 8.39 min/mile pace. And it was a little hard. A little uncomfortable but still at conversational pace. I say conversational but since I was running by myself I just talked in my head. The stupid left hip (SLH) was mostly fine. I could feel a tightness in my IT band and had the weirdest feeling in my SLH. You know when you hit your funny bone. Exactly like that but in my hip. My body is a little weird. Did some stretching, hip strengthening and foam rolling straight after – I’m more than a little paranoid about managing this niggle. Prevention is better than cure. Prevention is better than cure. Prevention is better than cure. My new mantra.

Refueling with a fruit-centric breakfast.

Image

 I’ve started making weekend smoothies again. They are so yummy, filling and a good way for me to get my dairy on.

1 cup milk (whatever kind you drink)

1 banana

1/4 cup OJ

1/4 greek yoghurt (protein FTW)

1 tbsp honey (or agave)

1 cup frozen fruit (I have a giant bag of frozen whole strawberries from Costco)

Now time to clean my house and torture my tastebuds with the smell of slow cooking pork. Yum garlicky!

 

 

Leave a Reply

